Love: the essential prerequisite

Love is the essential “ingredient”in all aspects of spiritual practice. Dada Vedaprajinananda explores a discourse by Shrii Shrii Anandamurti on this topic reading from Ananda Vacanamrtam, Part 2.

You can find the original text in the Electronic Edition of the Works of Shrii P.R. Sarkar… or in the single volume Ananda Vacanamrtam Part2.

Audio versions of this podcast series are available at or by searching for Ananda Marga Dharmacast on all audio platforms. The video version is here

Ashtanga Yoga: The eight limbs of yoga practice

This podcast is an explanation of the eight limbs of yoga practice as formulated by Patainjali around 200 years BCE.  The presenter is Dada Vedaprajinananda.

The eight limbs mentioned in the podcast are:

1. Yama – practices of controlled contact whose result is to bring a person in harmony with the society around him or her.  These practices are : 1. Ahimsa, 2. Satya  3. Asteya 4. Brahmacarya and 5. Aparigraha  (listen to the podcast for the explanation!)
2. Niyama – practices whose result is inner purification.  The components of Niyama are 1. Shaoca 2. Santosa  3. Tapah  4. Svadhyaya  5. Iishvara Pranidhana
3. Asana – yoga postures
4. Pranayama – control of vital energy
5. Pratyahara – withdrawal from sensory stimuli
6. Dharana – concentration of mind at particular points
7. Dhyana – meditation, making the mind move in an unbroken flow towards the Supreme Consciousness
8. Samadhi – absorption of mind and unit consciousness in the Supreme Consciousness